Back to profileComponent study · 2025

Recombinant thymosin-beta-4 after PCI

Recombinant human thymosin beta 4 improves ischemic cardiac dysfunction in mice and patients with acute ST-segment elevation myocardial infarction after reperfusion.

Zhang Y et al. · Cardiovascular Research

Study record

Population

96 patients with ST-segment elevation myocardial infarction after percutaneous coronary intervention. Baseline characteristics and per-arm numbers not provided.

Read source · Abstract-level extractionPrimary abstract — Methods and results; human trial separated from mouse/cell experiments
Formulation

Recombinant human thymosin beta 4. Exact product, preparation and concentration not supplied in abstract.

Inspect extraction gap · Abstract-level extractionPrimary abstract — Methods and results; human trial separated from mouse/cell experiments
Route

Human administration route not specified in abstract; not inferred from other thymosin trials.

Inspect extraction gap · Abstract-level extractionPrimary abstract — Methods and results; human trial separated from mouse/cell experiments
Dose & frequency

Human dose, frequency and treatment duration not specified. Early-treatment subgroup described by first dose within eight hours after PCI. The seven-day regimen in the abstract belongs to mice. No human or KLOW regimen can be derived.

Inspect extraction gap · Abstract-level extractionPrimary abstract — Methods and results; human trial separated from mouse/cell experiments
Study design

Randomized placebo-controlled double-blind trial; subgroup of 43 early-treated patients described. Subgroup prespecification, allocation methods and multiplicity control not verified.

Read source · Abstract-level extractionPrimary abstract — Methods and results; human trial separated from mouse/cell experiments
Duration

Human infarct-area assessment at 90 days. Treatment duration and other follow-up not supplied.

Inspect extraction gap · Abstract-level extractionPrimary abstract — Methods and results; human trial separated from mouse/cell experiments
Reported findings

Overall infarct-area difference was not statistically significant in the 96-patient trial. An early-treatment subgroup (n=43) had a favorable comparison at 90 days. Effect size, confidence interval and detailed analysis population absent; subgroup result does not establish overall efficacy.

Read source · Abstract-level extractionPrimary abstract — Methods and results; human trial separated from mouse/cell experiments
Adverse events

No human adverse-event counts or ascertainment details in the abstract. Absence of reporting is not absence of harm.

Inspect extraction gap · Abstract-level extractionPrimary abstract — Methods and results; human trial separated from mouse/cell experiments
Monitoring

Infarct-area assessment at 90 days; imaging method and safety-monitoring schedule not supplied.

Inspect extraction gap · Abstract-level extractionPrimary abstract — Methods and results; human trial separated from mouse/cell experiments

What it supports

Human trial evidence with a negative overall infarct-area comparison and a hypothesis-generating timing subgroup.

What it does not establish

Abstract-level extraction. Mouse ErbB2/Raf1 mechanisms are separate from human outcomes. Does not establish a TB-500 or KLOW treatment, pairing, dosing cycle or safety profile.

Funding

Not established from available abstract; some authors have a biotechnology-company affiliation, which is not a verified funding statement.

Literature search cutoff: 2026-09-08 · Not independently clinically reviewed

Browse study library